Please check out these two recent wheat alerts. The first product is labeled gluten free and is not, and the second product was mispackaged.
WHEAT ALLERGY ALERT
October 29, 2009
Pinnacle Foods Group LLC is recalling “ARMOUR Chili with Beans, Original” due to undeclared wheat. The product was distributed to retail stores in Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Virginia, and West Virginia.
The 15-oz. cans come in a case of six with a plastic over-wrap that incorrectly states the product is “Gluten Free,” while the product actually contains wheat. The label bears an “EST. 2AD” number inside the USDA mark of inspection with dates ranging from August 26, 2009 to October 28, 2009. Consumers with questions may call (800) 253-5882.
Unilever Issues Allergy Alert on Wheat in a Limited Number of Tubs of Breyers® Ice Cream
Unilever Media Relations
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – October 22, 2009 – Englewood Cliffs, NJ – Unilever United States, Inc., of Englewood Cliffs, NJ, in cooperation with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), is voluntarily recalling a limited number of tubs of Breyers® ice cream because it was mispackaged and may contain undeclared wheat. People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to wheat run the risk of allergic reaction if they consume this product.
On a limited number of tubs, the lid describes the product as “Breyers® All Natural Cookies & Cream” ice cream, and the tub portion of the package describes the product as “Breyers® All Natural Mint Chocolate Chip” ice cream. The product inside of the tub is “All Natural Cookies & Cream.” The ingredient statement on the tub does not declare wheat, which is an ingredient of the Cookies & Cream product.
The mispackaged ice cream product was distributed in Alabama, Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Trinidad and Virginia through retail stores in these locations and adjoining areas. The affected product is being recalled from consumers and retailer store shelves, back rooms and warehouses.
The affected mispackaged product was distributed in 1.5-quart (1.41L) paperboard tubs marked with UPC # 077567254245 located on the side of the tub and in combination with “Best If Used By” dates of FEB1711GH, FEB1811GH and FEB1911GH located on the bottom of the tub.
The allergy alert and recall relates only to the above mentioned mispackaged Breyers® ice cream. No other Breyers® ice cream products are affected.
No adverse reactions have been reported to date. In addition to working in cooperation with the FDA, the company is also issuing an alert through the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network.
The recall was initiated after the company received a few consumer complaints about the mispackaged product. It was determined that product containing wheat was distributed in packaging that did not reveal the presence of wheat in the ingredient list on the tub.
Consumers who have purchased the mispackaged Breyers® ice cream with UPC # 077567254245 and in combination with “Best If Used By” dates of FEB1711GH, FEB1811GH and FEB1911GH are urged to discard it immediately and contact the company at 1-877-270-7402 for a full refund. For consumers outside the United States, please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org for a full refund.