It’s bad enough when you see misinformation in some small, non-food-related magazine. But very bad information in a big food magazine?
That’s right, Food and Wine Magazine, I’m talking about you.
Rule number one about writing: Joe’s opinion does not a fact make. Or, in this case, Lionel’s.
Just because someone who supposedly has celiac disease says he eats spelt does NOT mean it is okay for celiacs.
Because, it is NOT.
Unfortunately, this is still a battle we are fighting with the health food stores, which happens to be most people’s first and only education about Celiac Disease.
Did I mention this is appalling?
Spelt is a member of the genus Triticum. Have you heard that word before? Most likely, you have, in some form or another. It’s the WHEAT. Look at this list of species in the genus Triticum, from the USDA.
So, while Lionel may be content with damaging his intestines and increasing his risk for other autoimmune disorders, cancers, and general bad health, don’t let that be you or a celiac you know.
When you see bad information like this, call them out on it. Share GOOD information. Hand them a pamphlet from the Gluten Intolerance Group.
In case you need a refresher of some of the names, here’s a pretty good table from the Children’s Digestive Health and Nutrition Foundation (fyi – I have not read the booklet).*Rice bran is okay, but it would be labeled as “rice bran”.